Georgia Super Speeder Law
The new state ‘Super Speeder Law’ goes into effect in Georgia. Any driver who exceeds the posted speed limits will be the first to feel the pinch of higher state fines (called fees) on their wallets.
How much higher? The new law titled HB160 tacks-on another two-hundred-dollar state-fee for any driver convicted of speeding at 75-or-more on any two-lane roads.. OR convicted of speeding at 85-and-over anywhere in Georgia. Those new state fees will be in addition to any local fines already in effect in the jurisdiction where the speeding offense occurs.
Under the provisions of this new Georgia law, any driver convicted of violating HB160 will now be classified by the state as a ‘Super Speeder’ and subject to an additional fee. The new ‘SuperSpeeder Law’ is designed to get tough on high-risk drivers who’ve been endangering other motorists and ignoring warnings to slow down. On average, there’s a speed-related death-a-day in Georgia!
Failure to pay the ‘SuperSpeeder’ fee results in an additional $50.00 fee and the suspension of the offender’s driving privileges and license. ‘SuperSpeeder’ is a highway safety law designed to save lives on our roads by changing the way illegal speeders drive in Georgia... by slowing them down within legal limits.
The Super Speeder Law in Georgia categorizes a Super Speeder as a driver who is convicted of driving at 75 mph or faster on a two lane road or at speeds of 85mph and above on any highway or road within the state of Georgia.
Not only will Super Speeders pay fines and fees to the county where they are issued a speeding tickets, an additional $200 Super Speeder state fee will also be assessed to the driver. If the $200 Super Speeder fee is not paid within 120 days of notice, the driver's license and driving privileges will be revoked. To reinstate their driving privileges, Super Speeders must pay the $200 fee plus another $50 license reinstatement fee.
When the Department of Driver Services receives notification of your speeding at 75mph or more on two lane road or highway or at speeds of 85 mph or more on any road or highway in Georgia, you will receive a notice via first class mail informing you of the $200 Super Speeder fee. After the letter is received, you have 120 days from the notice date to pay the fee to the Department of Driver Services.
If you fail to pay the Super Speeder fee to the Department of Driver Services within the 120 day time frame, your license or permit and driving privileges will be suspended. Once suspended, it will take full payment of the $200 fee plus payment of a $50 fee to reinstate your driving privileges.
Even out of state drivers are subject to the same rules governing Georgia drivers. If you get a Super Speeder ticket and do not pay it, the Department of Driver Services will impose a suspension on your driving privileges in Georgia. Then, the Department of Driver Services will notify your home state's licensing authority about the suspension and your home state may decide to take additional action against you.
Yes, and if your license or permit is suspended due to non payment, a separate $50 fee will be required for each Super Speeder citation you received.
Payments for the citation and reinstatement fees can be made in person at the Department of Driver Services, by mail or online though the Georgia Department of Driver Services website.
The Super Speeder law outlines the Department of Driver Services is responsible for the administration, notification and collection of the $200 fee. Payments can be made at the Department of Driver Services, by mail or on
Call Now (706) 778-5291
© 2016 TICKET FOR SPEEDING 2016 ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. WEBSITE CREATED BY WEBSTUFFGUY